About Us


The Ohio Machine, Ohio’s Major League Lacrosse team founded in 2012, begins its 2017 season on April 22 with its home opener on May 6th. In 2016, the Machine finished the season with an 8-6 regular season record and clinched the club’s first-ever championship appearance after leading the MLL in offense in 2016. The Machine plays its home games at the brand new stadium,Fortress Obetz, in Obetz, Ohio. Fortress Obetz is the first lacrosse specific professional venue in the country. For more information on the Ohio Machine, visit theohiomachine.com , or follow the team on  Facebook,  Twitter, and  Instagram.


During the summer of 1998, Jake “Body By Jake” Steinfeld was inspired to start a professional outdoor lacrosse league after reading a magazine article about the growth of the sport of lacrosse. Steinfeld sought out a contributor to the article, Owner and President of Warrior Lacrosse Dave Morrow, a leading lacrosse equipment manufacturer, to discuss formation of such a league.
In February 1999 Steinfeld and Morrow joined forces with Steinfeld’s friend and business associate Tim Robertson, Chairman of Bay Shore Enterprises and former CEO of the Family Channel, to form Major League Lacrosse, LLC, a Virginia limited liability company. In 2003, New Balance Athletic Shoe Inc. came on board as a Founding Member of Major League Lacrosse, as well as an Anchor Level League Sponsor.
Major League Lacrosse began play in 2001 to capitalize on the growing demand for world-class field lacrosse driven by dramatic growth in the U.S. lacrosse market. The MLL was praised and heralded for its on-field play, regarded as the best ever seen. With a year-on-year attendance increase, Major League Lacrosse has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports.

Major League Lacrosse is comprised of eight teams across the US and Canada. The Boston Cannons, Chesapeake Bayhawks (formerly Baltimore and Washington), New York Lizards (formally Long Island) and Rochester Rattlers are original teams starting in 2001. The Denver Outlaws began play in 2006 as part of the League’s western expansion. The Hamilton Nationals (formerly Toronto) joined MLL in 2009 as the League’s first international team. The Charlotte Hounds and Ohio Machine began play in 2012 as a part of the League's expansion initiative to have 16 teams in the next decade.

For more information on Major League Lacrosse, along with its teams, sponsors and vision, click here.